Dear stay at home mom, 

Dear Stay at home mom,

I was once a stay at home mom when our son Elijah was born. It was a hard transition for me. I did it for a year and needed to go back to work. It wasn’t because I didn’t love my son. I was losing a sight of who I was at the time. I had to step up since my husband had gotten laid off and we needed to make up some income that we were about to lose. I worked two part time jobs durning this time and it honestly felt like I was working one full time and a part time. Hardest year of my life mentally, emotionally, and physically. Yet I wouldn’t take back this path I once walked. It made me who I am today. It made me stronger and wiser. It made me thankful that the time I spend with our son for his first year I will cherish forever. 

The waking up in the middle of the night to breast feed. The constant urge to pump a supply. To cleaning the house “my way” or the highway motto. To cooking dinner for my husband and enjoying the time we spent as a family. Now that I’m slowly transitioning to being a stay at home mom again it’s been easy and hard at the same time. I’m trying to balance home duties with mom duties along with pursuing my dream. Running my own business even if I don’t become successful over night I’m not giving up. This is what I have always wanted. A name and brand of my own. I know there will be moments in time where I will break down because I feel like I’m doing everything. I know I will probably hurt you by saying this is our form of “paying the bills” yet I don’t mean to offend you. We are the “bosses” when it comes to being a stay at home mom. We aren’t the maid, we simply like to live in a clean environment and that’s actually a good thing. It’s great for having a healthy mental state. We aren’t the chefs, we clearly are cooking to help provide for our families. Let’s make it fun and leave the control and let everyone help. We aren’t the laundry mat, we are simply the mothers that our children need. We are teaching them how to do daily survival skills along with proper hygiene. It took me a year of working and having all these mental break downs emotionally to realize I saw and complained about not “having that help” a different way. It took me being away from my son 13 hours a day at times when working both jobs to see that yes I had a “good life” even with the non stop crying. Being a stay at home mom isn’t so your husband or significant other can have control of you or how money is spent. It’s about an agreement. A bond. A unity to understand that just like work you get a vacation and sometimes we will need help. Yet use it as a sick day, or a personal day. A weekend off means a weekend off. So as I sit here and enjoy my tea for next couple minutes I’m going to continue to pursue my dream and work hard to get My Truth and Company going. To being a super hero parent for my son. To being a loving and supportive wife. To being the “queen of the household”. To being the badass girl boss I want to be and show my son that yes woman can own a business and be kick ass at it. After all my stay at home moms; the future is Female. Go a pursue your wildest dream.

Leave a Reply

