An Open Letter to Ava’s Adoptive Parents

As I’m writing the end of my chapter for 2015 I sit here thinking how far I have come this year. Not just with my healing yet finding my voice. You pushed me to be better. You pushed me to do better. You believe in me and continue to cheer me on. I never really imagined to have the type of relationship I do with you. To be honest I was scared. I was scared to think how someone could love me as much as you and your amazing husband. How someone can have me included. When I first wanted to place I knew in my heart that you and Steve were the ones. The twinkle of happiness I saw in Steve’s eyes when we first met at the little place at the peso mall where we at lunch with my Aunt and Uncle. Yet what got me was the love  you both have for Lilly. The way you spoke to her as if she was your flesh in blood. This is when I knew off the bat that My child, your child belonged in this family, your family. 
You both have been so open and honest with me. Yet even though I’m far away I know I’m my heart that no matter where I go in life you will always continue to teach Ava and tell her the good you see in me.
My wish for you Steve is that no matter how old she gets always remind her she’s your baby girl. That as time goes on and she wants to date that you teach her to have respect for herself and to have a man that will treat her like the queen she deserves to be. Remind her that she is a woman and she is strong. That she can do it! That no matter how old she gets that you will always be her number one man. Her daddy to run to if anyone breaks her heart. 
Karin my dear sweet amazing Karin. Oh how I love you so. 
You are an angle sent from up above. You get me. You  let me cry on the phone with you. You help me in so many ways. My wish for you is to keep being the mom you are. The super mom who runs to soccer, surf lessons, dance lessons, and all the other fun activities you have for these two amazing precious girls.
I will love you forever. Not for the obvious reasons yet for the reasons that have gone unrecognized. For the way you comfort and  embrace Ava when she gets a boo boo or the way you sing to her to cheer her up. The silly car ride dance parties. Those late night movie nights. The way you do everything in your power to help her grow. She will have the gift of love. She will have the ability to love all because you and Steve have already taught her this the moment you held her in your arms for the first time. The moment you both looked at her and called her your baby girl. These moments these memories I think of daily because without them I would forget all the good in this. All the beauty. All the reasons why, I choose you. 
On my dark gloomy days when I hit rock bottom I think of these moments to help me get back up and embrace life. Because of you I am able to feel whole again. Oh how I can’t wait to see you again, so I can look at you and show you how happy I am that you are in my life and how much I appreciate you.
I love you. 
Ava
{This picture was sent to me from the lovely Karin, its pictures like this that makes my heart so happy and full.}
Leave a Reply

