A letter from an adoptive mom.

Throughout the past month and half I have met an adoptive mom online from a support group that I am apart of. To be exact this is a group of women who all have a significant other that has been or is in the service. We talk about home life, to what to wear to the ball, to what its like being a mom. Life in general. 

I came across this woman who shared her story about being in the process of adoption with her husband. Her story shed light to mine. It made me see that I and other birth parents were not the only ones that have pain, have trouble healing, trouble moving on, or better yet have that piece of mind that our birth children are loved and treated well daily. The feeling or regrets and doubt we may tend to have even if we want to admit it or not.

This letter Erika wrote, is short, heart warming, and brought tears to my eyes. The connection I have with her is different then many can imagine. We are slowly forming a friendship that is odd that some would say. We are helping one another cope, heal, understand, and move forward. Talking to her the few times that I have has made such a difference in my life in so many ways.11390087_10153395727022640_6449644350039714716_n

Her letter:

Dear Birthmom,
I honestly don’t even know how to start this off besides saying thank you a million times. What you did was so courageous and shows me that you must’ve been a strong woman. I hope Jayde inherits that trait from you. Everyone who knows Jayde’s story is sad for what you did, but I tell them “It is not by any means a sad thing. Her Birthmom loved her enough to give her a better life.” I don’t know what your circumstances were that caused you to choose this path, but I commend you for making this tough choice. I wish I could tell you how grateful I am for Jayde. You gave her to us. You kept her healthy, and I could never thank you enough for that. I promise that John and I will be the best parents we can be to her and I promise to always remind her that you loved her. I promise to help make her proud of who she is, and her story. I promise to love her as my own. I promise to never let a day go by without telling her I love her. Although we may not know who you are, I will forever have a connection with you. The greatest gift in our life was given to us by you. There is no way “Thank you” will ever be enough. So just know that Jayde will be given the best life possible, and she will be loved forever. You will always be in my heart, and I hope you think of us too. 
Sincerely,
One very happy mommy. 
For more of Erika’s story you can read her blog here:
Leave a Reply

