Ten Things I wish I knew before I became a mom.

Ten Things I wish I knew before I became a mom.

When I was pregnant I got a lot of advice. On how I should breast feed, how to change a diaper the ‘right way’. To make sure there is a onsie under the other onsie. Some advice I took, some advice I just simply ignored.

10) Everything that you are doing as a parent could be two things, the best or the worst to somebody. Do what works for you. Don’t worry about what others are saying, yes being a parent is hard. I have learned its okay. Everyone has an opinion. You know you are doing an amazing job when you are playing with your child and you see the joy and happiness, when you are cooking and your kid just randomly calls to you and says ‘momma’ and waves to you smiling. Those moments are the moments when no one else matters but your child.

9) Schedule! It is Key to sleep. Plain and simple.

8) Parenting is hard. It’s not easy. Most days you second guess yourself. It really is okay, you aren’t alone. We got this! Parents are super heroes. Have an hour or two to yourself. I have finally realized that is key to staying sane.

7) Don’t try to ‘mold’ your child into who you want them to be. We are all human. We are all different. We are born to be one of a kind. Discover who your child wants to be. So many people have told me my son should be ‘this way’ thing is he is his own.

6) Be prepared for the unexpected.

5) There needs to be enough room. Yes your child is just a new born and already has more crap then you do.

4) Memories. Don’t get rid of everything. Save a few of your favorite things. You will be looking at pictures and it will flash by you in a snap. They grow up really fast!

3) Every moment is a good one. The changing the diapers. Not sleeping for three weeks, in the end it’s all worth it. Remember you are a super hero.

2) Don’t be hard on yourself. You got this! The house the cooking, it can wait.

1) Love. This love, its raw, its beautiful, its love you never knew existed. This love is the best kind of love. It’s the love that makes you smile. The love that makes you proud, the love that makes you happy. It’s the type of love that no matter how good, ugly, hard it gets, this love lasts a lifetime.

One thought on “Ten Things I wish I knew before I became a mom.”

Leave a Reply

